GOP activist and congressional candidate Dana Walsh has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge for her race in California’s 8th district. Walsh is the first pledge signer in the district that is currently held by House Speaker, Nancy Pelosi.
Walsh is running in the GOP Primary which will be held in June with the chance to take on the Speaker. Pelosi has presided over the chamber in a year which she personally ensured the passage in the House of Representatives of three bills that were anything but beneficial to the taxpayers in California. The “stimulus” bill that created more debt than it did jobs; the “cap-and-trade” bill that would increase energy costs for families all across the country; and most recently a health care bill laden with tax increases that would hit working families in districts all over the nation. The winner of the GOP primary will certainly have the chance to mention these monstrosities throughout the summer and leading up to the November midterm election.
Walsh, with her signing of the pledge, has made a clear commitment to the taxpayers in California’s 8th District that she will fight for taxpayers’ interests. There are more than 300 candidates across the entire nation that have taken the Taxpayer Protection Pledge as Dana Walsh has, and we here at ATR continue to reach out to candidates in every state and encourage them to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge.
The official statement from ATR on Dana Walsh can be read below:
Dana Walsh (R-Calif.) Signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Congressional candidate promises to protect taxpayers’ wallets
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Dana Walsh, a Republican running in California’s 8th Congressional district, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”
ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 34 U.S. senators and 172 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge.
“After the passage of the so-called “Stimulus Package,” better known as the Pelosi-Obama-Reid Spending Give-Away, Americans are desperately searching for candidates and politicians that will protect their livelihoods and put their wallets ahead of the federal government’s coffers,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
“By signing the Pledge, Dana Walsh demonstrates that she understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers in California’s 8th Congressional district.”
“I challenge all candidates for federal office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” Norquist continued