Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) congratulates the Taxpayer Protection Pledge signers in California, Iowa, Mississippi, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, and South Dakota for their primary victories.   

By signing the Pledge, these candidates have made a written commitment to the people of their respective states to oppose and vote against any and all income tax increases if elected to Congress.  

The following primary winners signed the Pledge:


  • U.S. Congress
    • Doug LaMalfa (CA-01)
    • Kevin Kiley (CA-03)
    • Tom McClintock (CA-05)
    • John Duarte* (CA-13)
    • David Giglio* (CA-13)
    • Kevin McCarthy (CA-20)
    • David Valadao (CA-22)
    • Matt Jacobs (CA-26)
    • Young Kim (CA-40)
    • Ken Kallvert (CA-41)
    • Michelle Steel (CA-45)
    • Darrell Issa (CA-48)
    • Brian Maryott (CA-49)*
    • Christopher Rodriguez (CA-49)*
  • U.S. Senate 
    • Mark Meuser 
  • State Incumbents
    • Vince Fong (SH-32)
    • Janet Nguyen (SH-36)
    • Phillip Chen (SH-59)
    • Steven S. Choi (SH-73)
    • Randy Voepel (SH-75)
    • Marie Waldron (SH-75)
    • Brian Maienschein (SH-77)
  • State Challengers
    • Kate Sanchez (SH-71)


  • U.S. Congress
    • Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-01)
    • Zach Nunn (IA-03)
    • Randy Freenstra (IA-04)
  • State Incumbents
    • Jason Schultz (SS-9)
    • Matt Windschitl (SH-17)
    • Steven Holt (SH-18)
    • Brad Zaun (SS-20)
    • Cecil Dolecheck (SH-24)
    • Craig Johnson (SS-32)
    • Eddie Andrews (SH-39)
    • Jeffrey Reichman (SS-42)
    • Roby Smith (SS-47)
    • Dave Deyoe (SH-49)
  • State Challengers
    • Austin Harris (SH-26)


  • U.S. Congress
    • Ronald Neil Eller Jr. (MS-02)
    • Michael Guest (MS-03)
    • Steve Palazzo (MS-04)


  • U.S. Congress
    • Matt Rosendale (MT-02)
  • State Incumbents
    • Steve Gunderson (SH-1)
    • Linda Reksten (SH-12)
    • Paul Fielder (SH-13)
    • Dan Bartel (SS-15)
    • Steve Hinebauch (SS-18)
    • Kenneth Bogner (SS-19)
    • Cary Smith (SS-27)
    • Casey Knudsen (SH-33)
    • Barry Usher (SH-40)
    • Ron Marshall (SH-87)
    • Brad Tschida (SH-97)
  • State Challengers
    • Terry Falk (SH-8)

New Jersey 

  • U.S. Congress
    • Bob Healy (NJ-03)
    • Frank Pallotta (NJ-05)
    • Tom Kean Jr. (NJ-07)

New Mexico

  • U.S. Congress
    • Yvette Herrell (NM-02)
  • State Incumbents
    • Stefani Lord (SH-22)
    • Jane E. Powdrell-Culbert (SH-44)
    • Cathrynn Brown (SH-55)
    • Candy Ezzell (SH-58)

South Dakota

  • U.S. Congress
    • Dusty Johnson (SD-00)
  • State Incumbents
    • Ernie Otten Jr. (SH-06)
    • Aaron Aylward (SH-06)
    • Tom Pischke (SS-25)
    • Jon Hansen (SH-25)
    • Julie Frye-Mueller* (SS-30)
    • Timothy Ray Goodwin* (SS-30)
    • Phil Jensen (SH-33)
    • David Johnson (SS-33)
    • Tony Randolph (SH-35)

There are currently 180 Pledge signers in the U.S. House and 44 Pledge signers in the U.S. Senate. 85 percent of all congressional Republicans have made the written commitment to oppose higher taxes. In contrast, ZERO congressional Democrats have made that promise. 

“The Taxpayer Protection Pledge stands as a barrier against tax hikes and makes continued pro-growth tax reform possible. We are ecstatic about the candidates’ decisions to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to their constituents,” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. 

In President Biden’s first year, he championed a multi-trillion dollar tax and spend bill, which includes the largest tax increase since 1968. These tax hikes would disproportionately hurt workers, retirees, consumers, and small businesses. Taxpayers should expect more of the same for the remainder of his presidency.  

“The American people are looking for solutions that create jobs and grow the economy. Signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge and holding the line on taxes is the first step in that process,” continued Norquist. 

New candidates sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge regularly. For the most up-to-date information on these races or any others, please visit the ATR Pledge Database

*The election results for these districts have not been called yet.