There are four candidates in the special election to fill Connecticut’s 148th State House district seat; but Republican candidate Charles Pia, Jr. and Independent candidate Monique Thomas are the only two who have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge.  The Pledge is a commitment to constituents to “oppose and vote against any and all efforts to increase taxes.”

To date, eighteen members of the Connecticut legislature have signed the Pledge.  Additionally, 13 governors and over 1,250 state legislators across the country have signed the Pledge.  To see those who have signed, click here

The special election for the 148th House seat will take place April 12, 2011. 

Connecticut's 148th House district needs a  needs a leader committed to fiscal responsibility and pro-growth economic policies.  ATR encourages candidates and sitting legislators who have not signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to make this commitment to taxpayers.