Yesterday, Carly Fiorina signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in her race for California’s U.S. Senate seat, which is currently occupied by Democrat Sen. Barbara Boxer. Fiorina becomes the second candidate in the Republican primary to publicly promise to oppose any and all efforts to raise income taxes.

For those interested in Sen. Boxer’s congressional ratings with taxpayer advocacy groups, I compiled just a few examples.  In 2008, Boxer received ratings of 4% from ACU, 0% from CAGW, and 3% from NTU. Boxer has a lifetime rating of 5% with Americans for Tax Reform.

To see ATR’s official statement on Carly Fiorina signing the Pledge, click “read more.”

Carly Fiorina (R-Calif.) signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Senatorial candidate promises to protect taxpayers’ wallets
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Carly Fiorina, a Republican running for the US Senate in California, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”
ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 34 U.S. senators and 172 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge.
“After the passage of the so-called “Stimulus Package” better known as the Pelosi-Obama-Reid Spending Give-Away, Americans are desperately searching for candidates and politicians that will protect their livelihoods and put their wallets ahead of the federal government’s coffers ,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
“By signing the Pledge, Carly Fiorina demonstrates that she understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers in California.”
“I challenge all candidates for federal office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” Norquist continued.