George Nethercutt (R-Washington) signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge

WASHINGTON – George Nethercutt, a Republican vying for Washington\\\’s U.S. Senate seat, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to "oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates."

ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, President George W. Bush, 42 U.S. senators and 217 members of the U.S. House of Representatives (three of whom represent Washington) have signed the Pledge. Additionally, eight governors and 1,200 state legislators have also signed the Pledge.

"America needs leaders who are committed to protecting taxpayers, and signing our Pledge demonstrates that kind of leadership," said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform.

"By signing the Pledge, Mr. Nethercutt demonstrates allegiance to hard-working taxpayers nationwide, as well as dedication to taxpayers in his state. I applaud Mr. Nethercutt for the leadership and dedication he showed by signing the Pledge."

"I strongly encourage every candidate for federal and state elective office to sign the Pledge," Norquist continued.

Copies of the Pledge are available at or by calling (202) 785-0266.