Screen Shot 2019-12-04 at 4

Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) congratulates congressional candidate Brian Maryott for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, which is a written commitment to the people of California to oppose income tax hikes.  

Maryott joins several members of the California delegation in making this commitment to California taxpayers, including House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, Rep. Doug LaMalfa, Rep. Tom McClintock, Rep. Devin Nunes, and Rep. Ken Calvert.  

Maryott currently serves his community as Mayor of San Juan Capistrano in Southern California.   

“The American people are tired of the tax-and-spend policies coming from Washington and they are looking for solutions that create jobs, cut government spending, and grow the economy. Signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge and holding the line on taxes is the first step in that process,” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. 

Candidates running for public office like to say they will not raise taxes, but often turn their backs on the taxpayer once elected. The idea of the Taxpayer Protection Pledge is simple enough: Make them put their no-new-taxes rhetoric in writing. It is offered to every candidate for state and federal office and to all incumbents. Nearly 1,400 elected officials have signed the Pledge. 

“We are ecstatic about Mr. Maryott’s commitment to the taxpayers of California. I challenge all candidates for elected office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” continued Norquist. 

For the most up-to-date information on Pledge signers, please visit the ATR Pledge Database.