Businessman Bill Flores recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in his bid for Texas’ 17th Congressional District. Flores is in a crowded Republican primary field that includes several other Pledge signers such as 2004 candidate David McIntyre, Rob Curnock, Chuck Wilson, and Darren Yancy.

The winner of the Republican primary will face off against Incumbent Rep. Chet Edwards (D). While Edwards is in the 19th most Republican district according to Cook Political Report, CPR still rates the race as “Lean D.” However, John McCain won the district with 67% of the vote in 2008 and former President Bush received over 68% of the vote in 2000 and 2004.
To See ATR’s official statement on Flores signing the Pledge, click “read more.”
Bill Flores (R-Texas) signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Congressional candidate promises to protect taxpayers’ wallets
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Bill Flores, a Republican running in Texas’ 17th Congressional district, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”
ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 34 U.S. senators and 172 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge.
“After the passage of the so-called “Stimulus Package,” better known as the Pelosi-Obama-Reid Spending Give-Away, Americans are desperately searching for candidates and politicians that will protect their livelihoods and put their wallets ahead of the federal government’s coffers,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
“By signing the Pledge, Bill Flores demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers in Texas’ 17th district.”
“I challenge all candidates for federal office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” Norquist continued.