36970518734_79acb0596c_z (1)

In his bid to become his state’s next governor, Georgia Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, a written commitment to Georgia taxpayers to “oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes.”

“This past legislative session, Lt. Gov. Casey led the charge to provide significant tax relief to individuals, families, and employers across Georgia,” said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform. “By making this important commitment to Georgians, voters know they have a candidate who will not raid taxpayer bank accounts if elected. Instead, Cagle will seek policy innovations and reforms that make state government more efficient and less costly, especially those that make Georgia a more attractive place to live, work, raise a family, and invest.

Prior to becoming the first Republican ever elected to the office of lieutenant governor in 2006, Cagle served as a state senator from 1995 to 2007.

After signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, Lt. Gov. Cagle issued the following statement:

“As governor, I will remain committed to lowering the tax burden on Georgians. This year, I led – alongside Gov. Deal and Speaker Ralston – to deliver the largest income tax cut in Georgia history. Our $5.7 billion tax cut was the first – and most robust – tax cut following President Trump’s Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. And, we’re just getting started!”

Americans for Tax Reform offers the Pledge to all candidates for state and federal office. In the 115th Congress, 46 U.S. Senators and 209 members of the U.S. House of Representatives are pledge signers. Pledge signers include Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, House Speaker Paul D. Ryan, House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, House Majority Whip Steve Scalise, and GOP Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers. Senate Finance Committee Chairman Orrin Hatch and House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Kevin Brady are also pledge signers.

On the state level, the Taxpayer Protection Pledge has been signed by 11 incumbent governors including Gov. Scott Walker (R-Wis.), Gov. Rick Scott (Fla.), and Gov. Paul LePage (M.E.), and nearly 1,000 state legislators across the country.