WASHINGTON, D.C. – With Maine’s legislature now convened for the 2012 session, Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) has released an updated list of state elected officials in who have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. These legislators have made a written commitment to their constituents to never vote for a net tax increase. 


“Taxpayers in Maine are staring down the barrel of the largest federal tax increase in American history, which is set to kick in less than twelve short months from now. I applaud Maine Taxpayer Protection Pledge signers,” said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform. “By making this commitment to their constituents, they clearly recognize that in light of the hundreds of billions in higher federal taxes to come out of Washington, D.C. in recent years, the last thing that Maine taxpayers need is for lawmakers in Augusta to pile on more job-killing tax increases at the state level,” Norquist added.


The list of those who have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge is as follows:


House of Representatives:

David Burns (H-32)

Richard M. Cebra (H-101)

Mike Celli (H-21)

Kathleen Chase (H-147)

Dale Crafts (H-104)

Dean A. Cray (H-28)

Jarrod S. Crockett (H-91)

Philip A. Curtis (H-86)

Andre Cushing (H-39)

Dana L. Dow (H-50)

Peter Edgecomb (H-4)

Stacey A. Fitts (H-29)

Leslie Fossel (H-53)

Jeffery Gifford (H-12)

Peter Johnson (H-27)

Dennis Keschl (H-83)

L. Gary Knight (H-81)

Ricky Long (H-9)

Michael D. McClellan (H-103)

Jonathan McKane (H-51)

Susan Morissette (H-54)

Robert Nutting (H-78)

Beth A. O’Connor (H-145)

Wayne Parry (H-140)

John Picchiotti (H-84)

Wesley E. Richardson (H-49)

Ralph Sarty Jr. (H-99)

Heather Sirocki (H-128)

G. Paul Waterhouse (H-98)

Bruce Bickford (H-70)


State Senate:

Nichi Farnham (S-32)

Deborah Sanderson (S-52)

Lois Snowe-Mello (S-15)

Doug Thomas (S-27)

David Trahan (S-20)