federal_pledge_resized (3)

Americans for Tax Reform commends the federal incumbents and candidates in Tennessee who have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge ahead of tomorrow’s primary. The Pledge is a written commitment to the American people to oppose and vote against any and all efforts to increase taxes. 

“By signing The Pledge, these candidates and incumbents demonstrate that they will safeguard taxpayers from higher taxes,” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. “Pledge signers understand that government should be reformed so that it spends less and will oppose tax increases that prolong the failures of the past.” 

There are currently 172 Pledge signers in the U.S. House and 48 Pledge signers in the U.S. Senate. Eighty-nine percent of all congressional Republicans have made the written commitment to oppose higher taxes. In contrast, zero congressional Democrats have made that promise. 

Candidates running for public office like to say they will not raise taxes, but often turn their backs on the taxpayer once elected. The idea of the Taxpayer Protection Pledge is simple enough: Make them put their no-new-taxes rhetoric in writing, so the promise is harder to break.  

New candidates sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge regularly. For the most up-to-date information on these races or any other, please visit the ATR Pledge Database.  

Candidates can still make this important commitment to voters ahead of the primary by visiting: www.atr.org/take-the-pledge 

The following candidates have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge: 

  • Sen. Lamar Alexander  
  • Sen. Marsha Blackburn  
  • Bill Hagerty (SEN) 
  • Manny Sethi (SEN) 
  • Rep. Phil Roe (TN-01) 
  • Todd McKinley (TN-01) 
  • John Clark (TN-01) 
  • Josh Gapp (TN-01) 
  • Tim Hill (TN-01) 
  • Diana Harshbarger (TN-01) 
  • Rusty Crowe (TN-01)  
  • Rep. Tim Burchett (TN-02) 
  • Rep. Chuck Fleischman (TN-03) 
  • Rep. Scott Desjarlais (TN-04)  
  • Rep. Mark Green (TN-07)  
  • Rep. David Kustoff (TN-08)