Americans for Tax Reform recognizes the North Carolina incumbents and candidates who have taken the Taxpayer Protection Pledge ahead of the May 8 primary election. The Pledge is a written commitment to hardworking North Carolina taxpayers and to the American people to “oppose and vote against any and all efforts to increase taxes.”

“By signing The Pledge, these candidates and incumbents demonstrate that they will safeguard North Carolina taxpayers from higher taxes,” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. “Pledge signers understand that government should be reformed in a way that it spends and takes less taxpayer dollars, and will oppose tax increases that prolong failures of the past.”

The following North Carolina candidates and incumbents have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge:

Senate Incumbents:

  • Brent Jackson (S-10)
  • Danny Britt (S-13)
  • Wesley Meredith (S-19)
  • Jerry Tillman (S-26)
  • Dr. Trudy Wade (S-27)
  • Philip Berger (S-30)
  • Carl Ford (S-33)
  • Paul Newton (S-36)
  • Kathy Harrington (S-43)
  • David Curtis (S-44)
  • Warren Daniel (S-46)
  • Don Davis (S-5)
  • Jim Davis (S-50)
  • Louis Pate (S-7)

Senate Challenger: 

  • Ted Alexander (S-44)

Senate Open Seat Candidates:

  • Anthony Mascolo (S-8)
  • Ethan Bickley (S-9)
  • Eric Henderson (S-32)
  • Bob Rucho (S-34)

House Incumbents:

  • Ted Davis (H-19)
  • Jason Saine (H-97)
  • Beverly Boswell (H-6)
  • Harry Warren (H-76)
  • Sarah Stevens (H-90)
  • Michael Speciale (H-3)
  • Timothy Moore (H-111)
  • Linda Johnson (H-82)
  • Julia Howard (H-77)
  • Kelly Hastings (H-110)
  • Nelson Dollar (H-36)
  • George Cleveland (H-14)
  • Justin Burr (H-67)
  • Dana Bumgardner (H-109)
  • Beverly Boswell (H-6)
  • Jon Hardister (H-59)
  • Larry Pittman (H-83)

House Challengers:

  • T. Horne (H-3)
  • Robert Hanig (H-6)
  • Travis Groo (H-11)
  • Brennan Brooks (H-11)

House Open Seat Candidates: 

  • Russell Walker (H-48)
  • Catherine Whiteford (H-34)
  • James McIlroy (H-2)
  • Keith Kidwell (H-79)