ATR Launches to Fight for Free Speech on the Nation’s Airwaves by Permanently Repealing the so-called Fairness Doctrine
Targets Members who voted for one year ban but have yet to support permanent repeal.

WASHINGTON, D.C.At a Press Conference this afternoon calling for Members of Congress who supported a one year ban on the so-called Fairness Doctrine to support a permanent ban, Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform, announced the launch of a new website,, in order to allow the public to see where their member of Congress stands on free speech over the nation’s airwaves. 

Last year Congress overwhelmingly passed a one year ban on enforcement of the so-called Fairness Doctrine.   A bill introduced by Congressmen Mike Pence (R-IN) and Greg Walden (R-OR), the Broadcaster Freedom Act, would permanently keep the regulation off the books, but the bill is being blocked by House leadership.  Pence and Walden launched a discharge petition to force a vote on their bill.  To date, 192 members have signed on to the discharge petition with 218 signatures are needed to force a vote.

“The Hypocrisy Caucus is reserved for members of Congress who voted for a one year ban but have thus far refused to support a permanent repeal,” said Norquist.  “Either they’re for free speech or they aren’t.  Since they voted for a one year ban, why wouldn’t they support a permanent one?  That’s the textbook definition of hypocrisy. 

Members are broken down into three categories, Heroes, Zeros and Hypocrites.  The Heroes are members who have both supported the one year ban and signed on to the discharge petition.  Zeros are members who have supported neither.  And Hypocrites are members who supported a one year ban but have thus far refused to support permanent repeal. 

For more information and the latest news on the battle to protect free speech, go to