ATR sent the following letter endorsing the American Energy Innovation Act:

Dear Chairmen Price & Bishop:

On behalf of Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) and millions of taxpaying American energy consumers nationwide, I would like to thank you for introducing the American Energy Innovation Act.

As you know, this Act will encourage innovation, promote conservation, and increase production of American energy by opening the Outer Continental Shelf (OCS) and the Gulf coast of Alabama and Florida for energy exploration and development. Further, this Act ensures that lease sales will happen offshore by guaranteeing the planned lease sales established by the Mineral Management Service 2007-2012 five-year plan. This will lead to increased domestic production and less reliance on imported energy sources.

Opening the OCS to energy production will create 36 million jobs over the next three decades.  For every 2,000 acres of Alaska’s Arctic Coastal plain that become available for exploration, 1 million American jobs are created.  Because of the American Energy Innovation Act, millions of jobs will be created in the private sector to make energy sources more efficient and clean.

In addition, nearby energy-producing states will receive a fifty percent reduction of OCS receipts for federal offshore activity.  This saved money can be spent on education, transportation, tax reduction, environmental restoration, and other state uses.

The American Energy Innovation Act enhances U.S. national security in two ways: reducing American dependency on foreign fuel and creating millions of jobs over the next few decades.  Some in Congress want to issue new taxes on American energy output, but this Act offers more optimistic solutions that will ignite the best ingenuity using free market approaches.

Once again, I thank you for introducing the American Energy Innovation Act, and ATR will be encouraging all offices to become co-sponsors. For more information, please contact Brian Johnson in our office at [email protected].

Grover G. Norquist

Cc: All Members of the U.S. House of Representatives

Click here for PDF.