Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) congratulates Representatives-elect Greg Murphy (NC-03) and Dan Bishop (NC-09) on their recent wins in the North Carolina special elections. Murphy and Bishop’s leadership in Congress will continue to strengthen North Carolina’s longstanding position as a low-tax, competitive state.  

North Carolina’s third congressional district remained vacant until Murphy’s election following the unexpected death of Rep. Walter Jones. While the ninth district, a large suburb of Charlotte, was unrepresented for almost a year up until Bishop’s election. North Carolinians can be assured that their best interests are secure with Murphy and Bishop’s representation in Congress. 

Murphy and Bishop each signed the Federal Taxpayer Protection Pledge early in their campaigns, solidifying a commitment to the Tar Heel State to oppose any tax increases. Prior to his congressional run, Bishop signed the State Taxpayer Protection Pledge during his time as State Senator and Representative in the NC State Legislature. Currently, the Representatives-elect join Sen. Thom Tillis, Sen. Richard Burr, and all members of the North Carolina Delegation as Pledge Signers.   

ATR thanks and congratulates Rep Murphy and Rep Bishop for their devotion to limited government and honest leadership as Pledge signers.