Americans for Tax Reform today applauded Michael Hough, candidate for Delegate in Maryland House District 3B, for winning in the Republican primary this week. Hough has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, a written promise to oppose and vote against all tax increases. His opponent had publicly refused to sign the Pledge.

To date, 36 incumbent Maryland state legislators have signed the Pledge, in addition to U.S. Rep. Roscoe Bartlett from Maryland’s 6th Congressional District. Nationally, eight incumbent governors and nearly 1,100 state legislators nationwide have taken the Pledge.

“The voters of District 3B were presented with a clear choice in Tuesday’s primary,”said Grover Norquist, president of ATR. “Incumbent Delegate Charles Jenkins had refused to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, while Michael Hough was eager to make a firm commitment to taxpayers to oppose all tax increases on Maryland families. He will be a staunch defender of his constituents against the types of big government policies that have plagued Maryland for years.”

“Maryland’s unemployment rate has more than doubled under Martin O’Malley as its economy has stagnated, and it’s not difficult to figure out why. The governor’s answer to Maryland’s overspending problem has been massive tax increases every step along the way. Delegate Jenkins was unwilling to take an unequivocal stance against the O’Malley agenda, which ultimately led to his defeat on Tuesday. Michael Hough drew a line in the sand and will fight for pro-growth policies in Annapolis.”

“I applaud Michael for his and congratulate him on Tuesday’s victory,”added Norquist. “Voters have once again demonstrated their desire for fiscal sanity in Annapolis by supporting Taxpayer Protection Pledge signer Michael Hough.”