Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) congratulates Pledge signer Dan Bishop on winning the NC-09 Republican Primary last night.  As a signer of the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, he has made a written commitment to the people of North Carolina to oppose and vote against any and all tax increases if elected to Congress. 

Bishop joins Sen. Thom Tillis, Sen. Richard Burr, and all Republican members of the North Carolina congressional delegation in making this commitment to Tar Heel State taxpayers.

“We are ecstatic that taxpayers have a true ally in NC-09 Republican primary winner Dan Bishop. I challenge his opponent Democrat Dan McCready to make the same commitment to taxpayers before the special election, and sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” said Grover Norquist, President of ATR.

McCready has yet to sign the pledge, leaving the door open to higher taxes. As a political outsider, he has no legislative track record and voters deserve to know where stands on taxes. In a Facebook post from December of 2017, McCready called the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act “just one more in a never-ending string of failures from Washington.”

Bishop currently represents the 39th district, south-central Mecklenburg County, in the North Carolina State Senate. From 2015 to 2017, he served one term in the North Carolina House Representatives and two terms on the Mecklenburg County Commission. In addition to signing the federal Pledge, Bishop also signed the state Taxpayer Protection Pledge as a member of the NC State Legislature.

Candidates running for public office like to say they will never raise taxes, but often turn their backs on the taxpayer once elected. The idea of the Taxpayer Protection Pledge is simple enough: Make them put their no-new-taxes rhetoric in writing. It is offered to every candidate for state and federal office and to all incumbents. Nearly 1,400 elected officials have signed the pledge.