ATR Congratulates Curt Clawson on Signing the “No New Taxes” Pledge to Florida Taxpayers

Today, Businessman Curt Clawson signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in the race to replace Rep. Trey Radel in Florida’s nineteenth congressional district.

The Pledge, championed by Americans for Tax Reform, is a commitment to the people of Florida to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”

ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. Currently, 39 U.S. Senators and 219 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, fourteen incumbent governors and over 1,000 state legislators have signed the Pledge.

“I want to congratulate Mr. Clawson on taking the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. The American people are tired of the tax-and-spend policies coming from Washington and they are looking for solutions that create jobs, cut government spending, and get the economy going again,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.

“By signing the Pledge, Curt Clawson demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers of Florida.”

GOP Voters will head to the polls on April 22 to choose their nominee to face-off against Democrat April Freeman on June 24, 2014.