As primary voters head to the voting booths in Maryland, they deserve to know where their congressional and state candidates stand on vital pocketbook issues such as taxes and spending. Candidates often campaign in opposition to higher taxes, but disregard campaign promises once they take office.

Fortunately for taxpayers in Maryland, numerous candidates have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, which is a written commitment to oppose and vote against all income tax hikes.

The following candidates signed the Pledge:

U.S. House

  • Andy Harris (Incumbent, MD-01)
  • Dave Wallace (MD-02)
  • Antonio Pitocco (MD-03)
  • Amal Torres (MD-03)
  • Chris Palombi (MD-05)
  • Jonathan Jenkins (MD-06)
  • Matthew Foldi (MD-06)

State House

  • Jason Buckel (Incumbent, District 1)
  • Jesse Pippy (Incumbent, District 4)
  • Barrie Ciliberti (Incumbent, District 4)
  • April Fleming Miller (District 4)
  • Heath Barnes (District 4)
  • Christopher Eric Bouchat (District 5)
  • April Rose (Incumbent, District 5)
  • Christopher Tomlinson (District 5)
  • Sallie Taylor (District 5)
  • Bob Long (Incumbent, District 6)
  • Ric Metzgar (Incumbent, District 6)
  • Robin Grammar Jr. (Incumbent, District 6)
  • Kathy Szeliga (Incumbent, District 7)
  • Lauren Arikan (Incumbent, District 7)
  • Saif Rehman (District 9)
  • Matt Morgan (Incumbent, District 29)
  • Seth Howard (Incumbent, District 30)
  • Brian Chisholm (Incumbent, District 31)
  • Nicholaus Kipk (Incumbent, District 31)
  • Susan McComas (Incumbent, District 34)
  • Jay Jacobs (Incumbent, District 36)
  • Jeff Ghrist (Incumbent, District 36)
  • Christopher Adams (Incumbent, District 37)
  • Charles Otto (Incumbent, District 38)

State Senate

  • William Folden (District 4)
  • Justin Ready (Incumbent, District 5)
  • Bryan Simonaire (Incumbent, District 31)
  • Sid Saab (Incumbent, District 33)
  • Frank Esposito (District 35)
  • Addie Eckardt (Incumbent, District 37)
  • Mary Beth Carozza (Incumbent, District 38)

There are currently 180 Pledge signers in the U.S. House and 44 Pledge signers in the U.S. Senate. 85% percent of all congressional Republicans have made the written commitment to oppose higher taxes. In contrast, ZERO congressional Democrats have made that promise.

In President Biden’s first year, he championed a multi-trillion tax and spend bill, which includes the largest tax increase since 1968. These tax hikes would disproportionately hurt workers, retirees, consumers, and small businesses. Taxpayers should expect more of the same for the remainder of his presidency. 

“Voters have a right to know where candidates stand on taxes before heading to the voting booth,” added Norquist. “The Taxpayer Protection Pledge is a simple litmus test that tells voters I’ll work to protect your wallet. I encourage all candidates for elected office to make this commitment today.”  

New candidates sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge regularly. For the most up-to-date information on this race or any other, please visit the ATR Pledge Database