Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) commends the Taxpayer Protection Pledge signers in Maryland for their primary victories.   

By signing the Pledge, these candidates have made a written commitment to the people of their state to oppose and vote against any and all income tax increases if elected to Congress.  

The following primary winners signed the Pledge:

U.S. House

  • Andy Harris (Incumbent, MD-01)
  • Chris Palombi (MD-05)

State House

  • Jason Buckel (Incumbent, District 1)
  • Jesse Pippy (Incumbent, District 4)
  • Barrie Ciliberti (Incumbent, District 4)
  • April Fleming Miller (District 4)
  • Bob Long (Incumbent, District 6)
  • Ric Metzgar (Incumbent, District 6)
  • Robin Grammar Jr. (Incumbent, District 6)
  • Kathy Szeliga (Incumbent, District 7)
  • Lauren Arikan (Incumbent, District 7)
  • Matt Morgan (Incumbent, District 29)
  • Seth Howard (Incumbent, District 30)
  • Brian Chisholm (Incumbent, District 31)
  • Nicholaus Kipk (Incumbent, District 31)
  • Jay Jacobs (Incumbent, District 36)
  • Jeff Ghrist (Incumbent, District 36)
  • Christopher Adams (Incumbent, District 37)
  • Charles Otto (Incumbent, District 38)

State Senate

  • William Folden (District 4)
  • Justin Ready (Incumbent, District 5)
  • Bryan Simonaire (Incumbent, District 31)
  • Sid Saab (Incumbent, District 33)
  • Mary Beth Carozza (Incumbent, District 38)

There are currently 180 Pledge signers in the U.S. House and 44 Pledge signers in the U.S. Senate. 85 percent of all congressional Republicans have made the written commitment to oppose higher taxes. In contrast, ZERO congressional Democrats have made that promise. 

“The Taxpayer Protection Pledge stands as a barrier against tax hikes and makes continued pro-growth tax reform possible. We are ecstatic about the candidates’ decisions to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to their constituents,” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. 

In President Biden’s first year, he championed a multi-trillion dollar tax and spend bill, which includes the largest tax increase since 1968. These tax hikes would disproportionately hurt workers, retirees, consumers, and small businesses. Taxpayers should expect more of the same for the remainder of his presidency.  

“The American people are looking for solutions that create jobs and grow the economy. Signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge and holding the line on taxes is the first step in that process,” continued Norquist. 

New candidates sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge regularly. For the most up-to-date information on these races or any others, please visit the ATR Pledge Database