Leaders in the fight against higher taxes receive award sponsored by taxpayer advocacy group for their efforts to fight higher taxes in 2003

WASHINGTON – As in every year, in 2003, Americans for Tax Reform, the nation\’s largest taxpayer advocacy group, honored politicians and activists with the "Hero of the Taxpayer" award. The "Hero of the Taxpayer" award is given to state or federal officeholders or leaders whose principles and actions defend the American taxpayer, and work to prevent any and all tax increases. In 2003, the following "Heroes of the Taxpayer" were awarded:

Gov. Craig Benson (NH)
Gov. Jeb Bush (FL)
Gov. Mike Johanns (NE)
Gov. Bill Owens (CO)
Gov. Tim Pawlenty (MN)
Gov. Rick Perry (TX)
Gov. Mitt Romney (MA)
State Rep. Johnnie Byrd (FL)
State Rep. Frank Lasee (WI)
State Rep. Russell Pearce (AZ)
U.S. Rep. Bill Shuster (PA)
State Rep. Joe Thompson (NM)
State Sen. Ken Cuccinelli (VA)
State Sen. Mike Haridopolos (FL)
State Sen. Alex Mooney (MD)
U.S. Sen. Jim Talent (MO)
Mary Adams
Steve Gill
Linda Runbeck
John Taylor
Jason Williams
Gov. Mark Sanford (SC)

"These people can be proud of their leadership on behalf of America \’s taxpayers," says Grover Norquist , President of Americans for Tax Reform. "Their courageous actions in the fight against higher taxes and runaway-spending deserve the highest grades."

The recipients of the award have helped defeat massive tax hikes in their respective states, demonstrated leadership by stripping out wasteful spending out of their state budgets, stood up for TABOR-style spending caps and were exemplary in their commitment to fiscally responsible budgeting.

"These \’Heroes of the Taxpayer\’ understand that lower taxes create jobs, spur economic growth and stimulate investment," continues Norquist. "With their help, America \’s families will be able to keep their money, and businesses will be able to invest and create more jobs."