Today the US Senate is beginning debate on Sen. Murkowski’s (R-Alaska) EPA Resolution of Disapproval (SJ Res 26).

The Resolution states:

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That Congress disapproves the rule submitted by the Environmental Protection Agency relating to the endangerment finding and the cause or contribute findings for greenhouse gases under section 202(a) of the Clean Air Act (published at 74 Fed. Reg. 66496 (December 15, 2009)), and such rule shall have no force or effect.

There will be up to six hours of debate followed by a vote on the motion to proceed to the resolution. 

If the motion to proceed to passes then the Senate will  have one hour of debate followed by a vote on final passage of the resolution.  The votes on the resolution only require a simple majority (51 votes) under the Congressional Review Act.

The vote is expect around 3:45 this afternoon. YOU CAN HELP STOP THE EPA FROM REGULATING ALL U.S. BUSINESSES.

The following offices need to hear from you only if you live in the state the Senators represent. Tell them to vote "YES" on Murkowski SJ Resolution 26.

Sen. Baucus (Montana) – (202) 224-2651
Sen. Bayh (Indiana) – (202) 224-5623
Sen. Begich (Alaska) – (202) 224-3004
Sen. Byrd (West Virginia) – (202) 224-3954

Sen. Conrad (North Dakota) – (202) 224-2043

Sen. Dorgan (North Dakota) – (202) 224-2551
Sen. Johnson (South Dakota) – (202) 224-5842
Sen. McCaskill (Missouri) – (202) 224-6154
Sen. Pryor (Arkansas) – (202) 224-2353
Sen. Specter (Pennsylvania) – (202)224-4254
Sen. Tester (Montana) – (202) 224-2644


ATR will rate against a "no" vote on this resolution in our annual Congressional Scorecard. Voting against this resolution will negatively effect a Senators contention for ATR's "Hero of the Taxpayer" award. ATR sent a letter to all members of the Senate urging them to support this resolution.

Please let us know what type of feedback you receive from your Senator’s office by leaving a comment below and on Twitter by replying to @TaxReformer (ATR’s official Twitter handle).