Aaron Schock (R-Ill.) signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Congressional candidate signs taxpayer protection pledge

WASHINGTON, D.C. – State Rep. Aaron Schock, a Republican running to replace retiring Congressman Ray LaHood (R-Ill.) for Illinois’s 18th Congressional District seat, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates."

ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, President George W. Bush, 42 U.S. senators, and 195 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,200 state legislators have signed the Pledge.

“Americans are looking for candidates committed to fiscal responsibility and pro-growth economic policies,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.

“By signing the Pledge, Aaron Schock demonstrates that he possesses the qualities hard-working taxpayers nationwide are so desperate to find in their candidates. I applaud him for his leadership and dedication to the ideals of limited government.”

“I strongly encourage every candidate for federal and state elective office to sign the Pledge,” Norquist continued.

Copies of the Pledge are available at www.atr.org or by calling (202) 785-0266.