Happy Birthday Mr. President. 

The Ronald Reagan Legacy Project sends requests to governors from all 50 states to issue a proclamation declaring February 6 “Ronald Reagan Day” annually. On Reagan’s 104th birthday, 35 states — five with Democrat governors — signed official proclamations recognizing the late president.

Grover Norquist founded the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project  in 1997.  The project is committed to preserving the legacy of the 40th President of the United States throughout the nation and abroad, and also works to encourage the naming of buildings, roads, landmarks, and schools after the late President. There are currently 108 domestic dedications in 28 states, and 14 international dedications in seven countries

Grover Norquist, founder and chairman of the RRLP, had this to say about President Reagan: “Even though it’s been more than 25 years since he left office, Ronald Reagan remains the leader his successors should emulate. His steadfast leadership revived a lagging U.S. economy, created a period of prosperity that lasted nearly 20 years, and restored America to its position as leader of the free world. His accomplishments outweigh those of all his successors combined. He represents the gold standard for leadership.”

The following 35 Governors have issued proclamations declaring today as Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

Alabama- Robert Bentley (R)

Arizona- Doug Ducey (R)

Arkansas- Asa Hutchinson (R)

Colorado- John Hickenlooper (D)

Delaware-Jack Markell (D)

Florida- Rick Scott (R)

Georgia-Nathan Deal (R)

Idaho- Butch Otter (R)

Illinois- Bruce Rauner (R)

Indiana- Mike Pence (R)

Iowa- Terry Branstad (R)

Kansas- Sam Brownback (R)

Louisiana- Bobby Jindal (R)

Maine- Paul LePage (R)

Maryland- Larry Hogan (R)

Massachusetts- Charlie Baker (R)

Michigan- Rick Snyder (R)

Mississippi- Phil Byant (R)

Nebraska- Pete Ricketts (R)

Nevada- Brian Sandoval (R)

New Hampshire- Maggie Hassan (D)

New Jersey- Chris Christie (R)

New Mexico- Susana Martinez (R)

North Carolina- Pat McCrory (R)

North Dakota- Jack Dalrymple (R)

Ohio- John Kasich (R)

Oklahoma- Mary Fallin (R)

South Carolina- Nikki Haley (R)

South Dakota- Dennis Daugaard (R)

Tennessee- Bill Haslam (R)

Texas- Greg Abbott (R)

Vermont- Peter Shumlin (D)

West Virginia- Earl Ray Tomblin (D)

Wisconsin- Scott Walker (R)

Wyoming- Matt Mead (R)


There are 15 governors who have not issued a proclamation declaring Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

Alaska- Bill Walker (I)

California- Jerry Brown (D)

Connecticut- Dan Malloy (D)

Hawaii- David Ige (D)

Kentucky- Steve Beshear (D)

Minnesota- Mark Dayton (D)

Missouri- Jay Nixon (D)

Montana- Steve Bullock (D)

New York- Andrew Cuomo (D)

Oregon- John Kitzhaber (D) 

Pennsylvania- Tom Wolf (D)

Rhode Island- Gina Raimondo (D)

Utah- Gary Herbert (R)

Virginia- Terry McAuliffe (D)

Washington- Jay Inslee (D)